beijing, china. 2007. during my last day in beijing i stepped outside the comfort zone a bit further and ventured into what seemed an area that really doesn’t see any tourist traffic. during my backstreet trek, i turned the corner and passed though this tiny, thin gate, which led down a very narrow alleyway and then through an opening in an old adobe/rock wall. well, as a made my way through the opening i realized that i might just be in the wrong area. turns out, this is the “parking area” for the local rickshaw caddies. hundreds of rickshaws and their respective drivers, hanging out, some sleeping, some playing cards. they welcomed me into their little world of camaraderie, and in doing so, opened up a whole new way to see them. i gave one of my cameras to an elder driver and turned him loose. total trust. again, communication doesn’t need to be spoken!

One thought on “beijing, china. 2007. during my last day in beijing i stepped outside the comfort zone a bit further and ventured into what seemed an area that really doesn’t see any tourist traffic. during my backstreet trek, i turned the corner and passed though this tiny, thin gate, which led down a very narrow alleyway and then through an opening in an old adobe/rock wall. well, as a made my way through the opening i realized that i might just be in the wrong area. turns out, this is the “parking area” for the local rickshaw caddies. hundreds of rickshaws and their respective drivers, hanging out, some sleeping, some playing cards. they welcomed me into their little world of camaraderie, and in doing so, opened up a whole new way to see them. i gave one of my cameras to an elder driver and turned him loose. total trust. again, communication doesn’t need to be spoken!

  1. Your mother sent me a link to your website, and I thought I would take a look.
    Amazing photography, I am on my third cup of afternoon coffee, and been so far in your archives I have jammed up my desktop.
    I love a click that speaks to you, and though it’s a cliche, yours reach out to me. I will continue to visit you in the future. We have to talk techniques one day. Yours are of another place and time.
    AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

